Charter Oak State College Official Catalog
Chat Button
Search Our Catalog
Connecticut Board of Regents for Higher Education

Core Consulting Faculty

(As of October 1, 2014 - September 30, 2015)

Dean of Faculty

Catherine E. Hoyser
Professor of English and Director of Women's Studies, University of Saint Joseph
(B.A., M.A., Miami University; Ph.D., Indiana University)

Associate Dean of Faculty


Academic Council

Richard Benfield
Associate Professor of Geography, Central Connecticut State University
(B.Sc., University of Aberdeen; M.A. University of Alberta; Ph.D., University of Oklahoma)

Doris G. Cassiday
Assistant Director of Academic Programs/Academic Counselor, Charter Oak State College
(A.B., University of Vermont)

Irene Clampet
Marketing Program Coordinator, Three Rivers Community College
(B.A., Queens College of the City University, New York; M.B.A., St. John's University)

Steven W. Congden
Assistant Professor of Management, University of Hartford
(B.S., M.B.A., Clarkson University; Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst)

Jeffrey A. Crouch, Dean of the Faculty
Professor of Criminal Justice; Chair, Social Science Department; Criminal Justice Program Coordinator, Three Rivers Community College
(A.S., Mohegan Community College; A.A.S., Community College of Air Force; B.S., Western Connecticut State University; M.P.A., Ph.D., University of Idaho)

Patrice E. Farquharson
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education, Post University
(B.S., University of Connecticut; M.S., Southern Connecticut State University; Ed. D., Nova Southeastern University)

Amy Feest
Business Administration Program Coordinator/Marketing,  Assistant Professor, Tunxis Community College
(B.S. Post College; M.S., Central Connecticut State University)

Richard Gerber
Professor of History, Southern Connecticut State University
(B.A., M.A., Ph.D., University of Michigan)

Krystyna Gorniak-Kocikowska
Professor of Philosophy, Southern Connecticut State University
(A.B.D., Temple University; M.A., Temple University; M.A., Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland; Ph.D., Adam Mickiewicz University, Poland)

David E. Henderson
Professor of Chemistry, Trinity College
(B.S., St. Andrews Presbyterian College; Ph.D., University of Massachusetts)

Catherine E. Hoyser, Associate Dean of the Faculty
Professor of English and Director of Women's Studies, University of Saint Joseph
(B.A., M.A., Miami University; Ph.D., Indiana University)

Kristine Larsen
Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Central Connecticut State University
(B.A., Central Connecticut State University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Connecticut)

Emily G. Lewis
Academic Dean, Charter Oak State College
(B.S., Calumet College of St. Joseph, M.S, Loyola University Chicago, Ed.D., Auburn University)

Adele M. Miller
Assistant Professor of Mathematical Sciences, emeritus, Central Connecticut State University
(A.B., Wells College; M.A.T., Columbia University, Ed. D., University of Massachusetts)

Stephen Misovich
Associate Professor of Psychology, Hillyer College, University of Hartford
(B.A., M.A., Ph.D., University of Connecticut)

Olusegun Odesina
Professor of Computer Electronics and Graphics Technology; Associate Dean, School of Engineering and Technology
(B.S., Western Illinois University; M.S., Western Illinois University; Ph.D., Iowa State University)

Shyamala Raman
Professor of Economics & International Studies, Saint Joseph College
(B.A., M.A., University of Madras; M.A.L.S., Wesleyan University; M.B.A., Ph.D., University of Connecticut)

Susan Seider
Professor, Teacher Education Department, Central Connecticut State University
(B.S. Sec. Ed., English State University of New York at Fredonia; M.S. Ed., ELED READING, State University of New York at Fredonia, D.Ed., Curriculum & Instruction The Pennsylvania State University)

David E. E. Sloane
Professor of English, University of New Haven
(B.A., Wesleyan University; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University)

Beverly C. Wall
Associate Professor & Director of the Allan K. Smith Center for Writing and Rhetoric, Trinity College
(B.A., University of Exeter; M.A., University of Virginia; Ph.D., University of North Carolina)

Assessment Committee

Susan Seider, Chair
Mary A. Bencivengo
Maureen A. Conard
Richard Gerber
Leonard M. Giambra
David E. Henderson
Qing Lin Mack

Business Committee

Irene Clampet, Chair
Gregory R. Berry
Lisa Marie Bigelow
Steven W. Congden
Cynthia Conrad
Paul Creech, Esq.
Neil Robert Dworkin
Veronica Gill
Shyam S. Lodha
Richard McCarthy
Clifford M. Nelson
Jane O'Grady
Carrie Picardi
Shyamala Raman
Timothy J. Raynor
Margery Steinberg

Distance Learning Committee

Amy Feest, Chair
Elizabeth Begley
Richard Benfield
Karen Birch
Walton L. Brown-Foster
Richard H. Calder
Pauline Clifford
Edgar Colon
Steven W. Congden
Susan Deane
Jeff Dykes
Carlo Esidore
Richard Gerber
Janet Lanci
Shyam S. Lodha
Ruth K. MacDonald
Carol A. Mowen
Paul R. Petterson
Rebecca Putt
Gayle van Dijk

History and Humanities Committee

Krystyna Gorniak-Kocikowska, Chair
Richard Bass
Richard Benfield
Jon Brammer
Victoria Dolceamore
Luke L. Eilderts
Richard Gerber
Eleanor M. Godway
Catherine E. Hoyser
David A. Levine
Kate McGrath
Jennifer M. O'Donnell
David E. E. Sloane
Jack Tom
Beverly Wall

Mathematics, Science, and Technology Committee

Olusegun Odesina, Chair
Karen W. Birch
Thomas R. Burkholder
Raymond Dennis
James E. Fuller, AIA NCARB
David E. Henderson
Daniel Kirby
Kristine Larsen
Joseph L. Manthey
Adele M. Miller
Kegan G.G. Samuel
Wayne Sandford
Carmen Yiamouyiannis

Social and Behavioral Sciences Committee

Stephen Misovich, Chair
Mitchell Beck
Victoria L. Bozzuto
Walton L. Brown-Foster
Marsha Bryant
Susan McReynolds Capasso
Marie Clucas
Edgar Colon
Maureen A. Conard
Jeffrey A. Crouch
John DeCarlo
Jennifer DeFrance
Lauren Doninger
Patrice E. Farquharson
Pearl Jacobs
Johnny E. Williams